NATIVE SPIRITS

Image

I grew up in New Mexico which gave me a love of the American Indian culture and art.  I am so drawn to the ruins and the relics of the Ancient Ones.  I imagine what it must have been like to live in those days, and can picture little Indian girls playing with dolls made of corn husks, bits of leather, and sticks.  These Spirit Dolls are inspired by the old style Kachinas and other Southwest Indian designs.

Copy of IMG_8766

 

IMG_9640

Copy of IMG_8764

IMG_9665

Most of my Native Spirits do not represent a particular Kachina, but I made these to resemble the Corn Maiden Kachina.   Real Kachinas are carved from cottonwood roots.

IMG_9918

4 responses »

  1. I love these so much! They are so creative and charming and authentic. Keep makeing them and also keep making your monsters. I also LOVE those.

    • That’s so nice and so true! I love it when people understand things like this! Mother would have loved your creations.

Leave a Reply

